

## Cabinet Economic Policy Committee

### Minute of Decision

This document contains information for the New Zealand Cabinet. It must be treated in confidence and handled in accordance with any security classification, or other endorsement. The information can only be released, including under the Official Information Act 1982, by persons with the appropriate authority.

# Proposed Amendments to Te Ture Whenua Maori Act 1993: Approval to Consult

Portfolio Māori Development

On 26 March 2025, the Cabinet Economic Policy Committee (ECO):

- 1 **noted** that consultation with Māori landowners on changes to Te Ture Whenua Maori Act 1993 is included in the Coalition Government's Q1 Action Plan;
- 2 **noted** that the related paper *Going for Growth with Māori* | *Huhua Māori*, attached under ECO-25-SUB-0026, outlines the Minister for Māori Development's priorities for Māori economic growth, including focused actions within the Going for Growth agenda;
- 3 **noted** that amendments to Te Ture Whenua Maori Act 1993 will support the use and development of whenua Māori, including proposals to:
  - 3.1 make certain processes more efficient for both the Māori Land Court and landowners;
  - 3.2 widen who can be appointed as an agent, the types of land an agent can be appointed for, and the powers of an agent;
  - 3.3 support the development and access of whenua Māori for housing;
  - 3.4 support better and clearer processes for succession matters;
  - 3.5 support more efficient processes for certain leases to be progressed; and
  - 3.6 amend miscellaneous provisions;
- 4 **noted** that final policy proposals will be given effect through Te Ture Whenua Maori Amendment Bill, for which a category 5 priority has been sought on the 2025 Legislation Programme (to progress to Select Committee by the end of 2025);
- 5 **invited** the Minister for Māori Development to report back to ECO with final policy proposals to amend Te Ture Whenua Maori Act 1993 following public consultation;
- 6 **authorised** the Minister for Māori Development to make any minor changes as needed to finalise the discussion document attached under ECO-25-SUB-0027 (the discussion document);

### IN CONFIDENCE

7 **approved** the release of the discussion document for public consultation.

Rachel Clarke Committee Secretary

#### Present:

Rt Hon Winston Peters Hon David Seymour Hon Nicola Willis (Chair) Hon Brooke van Velden Hon Shane Jones Hon Louise Upston Hon Todd McClay Hon Tama Potaka Hon Simon Watts Hon Chris Penk Hon Penny Simmonds Hon Andrew Hoggard Hon Mark Patterson Hon Scott Simpson Simon Court MP **Officials present from:** Office of the Prime Minister Officials Committee for ECO